Pretty Baby

My niece may only be 16 months old, but already she’s developing her own sense of style. She loves jewellery and brooches, but unfortunately she’s still to small to wear them, so I decided to modify a plain denim pinafore my sister bought her.

I kept it pretty simple, as it’s just an everyday item, but added a big felt flower, with a button centre to the front of the skirt and smaller ones, still with button centres to the bib pocket and one of the back pockets.

Doing this (and spending far too much time on Pinterest whilst I’ve been recovering from bronchitis) as only reaffirmed by desire to start making clothes.  I’m looking forward to my no-pattern skirt book arriving and definitely going to set aside some time over the next few weeks to rope Lesley into helping me make a duct tape dress form.  After that a trip to get some beautiful dressmaking fabric will  be in order; I don’t see the point in using bog-standard fabric for making my own clothes, even at the beginning stages, as the whole reason I want to make clothes is to have things made in great fabrics.

What project are you working on these days?

3 thoughts on “Pretty Baby

  1. That looks just as adorable as I imagined you’d make it!

    I’m looking forward to making the dress form and getting a trip to that fabulous fabric store 🙂

  2. That is seriously cute; you should be making clothes!

    I’m getting ready to sew some simple skirts and pants as my weight loss progresses.

Leave a comment