Simple Pleasures

One of my aims for this year is to take time to enjoy little things. I’m terrible for taking on too much, going hell for leather, then spending any spare time I have procrastinating. This year I’m going to relax a bit but try to be more productive in my spare time.

Something that gave me enormous pleasure was finishing my crocheted Tucson Throw.
20130126-182344.jpg

It was a free pattern on the Naturally Caron site and my first big crochet project. I used Sirdar Supersoft Aran in Scrummy Plum, Kingfisher, Denim and Sand.

I decided not to put the fringing on it, but have some yarn left over, so I can always go back and do it at a later date. It already has pride of place on the futon in the spare room, which doubles as my craft room, so I’m looking forward to spending some chill time in there now.

Next up I’m making a cushion cover in the same colours. I love big projects but when they’re done, I really like to do some smaller things. I’ve also got the urge to pick up a beading needle again; I have a few unfinished objects to work on, so trying to convince myself to work on these before starting something new!

Another simple thing that makes me smile is my new egg chicken

20130126-183126.jpg

I had wanted one for ages but couldn’t make my mind up between cream and patterned. It looks so much nicer in the kitchen than egg cartons lying around.

Better dash, my hook and needle are beckoning.

Stay warm everyone.

Toodles xoxo

Leave a Reply

