Oops…

…time ran away with me and the next thing I know, my couple of days has turned into a couple of months.  I am going to try to be a better blogger though!

The unfinished bead embroidery and bracelet I showed the last time I posted is still no further forward, but I do have some nice beady creations, just sitting waiting to be photographed.  As soon as I’ve done this, I’ll blog them.

Remember my desire to start dressmaking?  Well I now have a date in the diary with the lovely Lesley to make a duct tape dress form.  It’s not for a few weeks yet, so that gives me plenty of time to sort out all my treasured belongings crap, which has migrated to the spare room.

Talking of dressmaking, I have acquired some luscious fabric since my last post:

I am planning to make a weekend bag with the oilcloth, a winter skirt with the grey cord, a bag and/or kitchen stuff with the ducks and dots, and something fabulously amazing with the brocade.

I have no idea how we managed to get halfway through the year.  I really wanted to have a go at millinery and corsetry this year, but time always seems to be running away with me.  I suppose that is the price I pay for having to work full time, trying to get fit, cooking in order that we eat few processed foods, and trying to squeeze in some craft time whenever I can.  Doesn’t help matters that I’m a bit of a procrastinator.

On the subject of getting fit, I have started roller derby training with Fierce Valley Roller Girls.  I used to be pretty handy on skates in my younger, Coasters days, but changed days now!  To be honest, I was a bit disheartened the first week of training when I couldn’t do all the things I could in my mid teens (well over 25 years ago).  Of course, once I got my realistic head on, I remembered I couldn’t do all these things when I started, the skills came with many, many hours of practice.  I am just so happy I’m getting to skate again.

I’ve also rejoined the gym and been swimming a fair bit.  I’m also keeping up with my yoga and burlesque classes (hence the no time I mentioned earlier).

Will be back in the next few days (I promise this time) with some beady beauties.

Leave a Reply

