Sew, what next for me??

It’s been quite a while since I got the sewing machine out, but lately the urge to learn dressmaking has hit me hard.  A member of The Sewing Forum posted a link to the Decades of Style site, where I saw what I think will be the perfect first project for me; as an added bonus, if it turns out okay, I am sure it will be something I will wear a lot.

This is it – a 1950’s style Stole:

I am planning on making it in  very fine wool or knit fabric, as I reckon I’ll get most wear from something like that, although I may make it in a velvet fabric at some point in the future.  I’m hoping it’s not too difficult to reverse the side the sleeve is on, as it would be more natural for my left-handedness but if I can’t work out how to do it, I’ll just have to stick with it the way it is.

As the pattern came from the US and the flat rate postage wasn’t that cheap, I thought I may as well treat myself to another one.  This 1930’s style Butterfly Blouse:

This pattern is quite a bit (for quite a bit, read “enormously”) more difficult than the stole, so I will need to practice a bit before I attempt it.  I fancy it in a crepe material, with chiffon (or something similar) sleeves.

I also ordered a couple of dressmaking books:

Vogue Sewing

and

The Party Dress by Simon Henry

I can’t wait to go fabric shopping…

4 thoughts on “Sew, what next for me??

  1. The party dress book … drooooooooolll always fancied that! Any time I can be onhand for anything give us a shout. Can’t wait to see the results xxx

  2. oooh I also meant to say that both these shapes will look fantastic on you so get going! I made an attempt to join the forum too 😉

  3. Ooooh new ventures, will watch with anticipation, and i think that i will keep a close eye on that forum, have registered (with the usual name 😉 ) with the hope that i’ll be able to learn a lot! x

  4. Oooh I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you come up with. If I were you though, I’d stick to woven fabrics rather than knits to start with as knits are a devil for stretching and seams and hems go out of shape really easily if you’re not careful

Leave a Reply

