You’ve got Mail

I finished the chain mail bracelet I was working on last week. I’m actually really pleased with the result, as I’ve only done one piece of mail before and that was a few years ago at a beginners class.

Although it looks complicated, the pattern was remarkably simple to follow and, compared to seed bead stuff, it made up quite quickly as well.  I used aluminium rings, as I was too chicken to spend the money on silver ones in case I struggled to get the pattern right.  would certainly like to redo it in a more substantial metal.

Almost finished the pearl and rivoli bracelet – a few rows and the clasp to add, although I will need to get my hands on a clasp, so might need to wait until next Bead & Banter if I’m not ordering anything online before then.

Already thinking about what my next project will be – one idea involves me drawing up my own pattern – something I’ve never done before – I usually either follow a pattern or make things up as I go along.  I have a feeling this will involve a lot of ripping back and tantrums to get it right, so will probably do something else at the same time that doesn’t need as much concentration.

Also want to do some polymer clay stuff, as apart from one pendant, it’s been a while since I’ve done anything in this media.  I’ve been looking at people’s work on  The Polyclay Forum – some great work there.

Only a few weeks to go until the Bead Retreat – I am really looking forward to it, but disappointed on of my beady buddies can’t make it any more.  A couple of weeks after that, I’m off to London for a couple of days, so it’s all systems go :D:D.

Lisa xoxo

2 thoughts on “You’ve got Mail

Leave a Reply

