Bookworm

I’m lucky enough to be going to a Bead Retreat in Derbyshire with some of my beady friends in May.  One of the things on the agenda is wire working, which I am completely clueless about – the only thing I’ve ever done was an extremely basic clasp which ended up not being suitable for the piece I was making.

Being a complete bibliophile, especially when it comes to craft books, I treated myself to Weave Wrap Coil: Creating Artisan Wire Jewlery by Jodi Bombardier.

Wow, this book looks fantastic (although I have to say I’ve not tried anything from it yet).  It’s split into 3 sections – Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced and even the Beginners section has some really nice stuff (I normally find that I don’t like any beginner projects in books and end up throwing myself into the deep end).  I’m looking forward to trying some of these out though.  Will be building my meagre wire stock up over the next couple of months.

My fabby hubby also bought me Baking Made Easy by Lorraine Pascale.

There are some really nice looking recipes in this book, although in an ideal world I would have liked a picture of every finished dish, just so I know what it’s meant to look like, but maybe this will let me put my own interpretation on things.  The passion & lime meringue pie on the cover is a definite for me to try, as I adore any type of merinnue pie.

Stu also gave me a condiment set and mini tagine (the red one in the photo) from Lakeland, to match the big stripy tagine I got at Christmas, so I am planning a Moroccan/Middle Eastern feast for next weekend.

What are you up to this week?

Lisa xoxo

2 thoughts on “Bookworm

  1. Ooohhhh. That meringue looks lush. And defo bring that wirework book. I love wireworking although only really do basic stuff but maybe we can have a look together and I will bring my little supply of wire. Xx

Leave a comment