Brooch(y) Beauty

I thought I’d begin a little series of posts featuring pieces of jewellery that I haven’t made, but which are unique and very loved, starting with this beauty:

I was lucky enough to spend some time in New Orleans last year and even luckier to have some birthday money on me.  I spotted this little beauty in the French Market but, as always, was reticent to spend my money in case I found something else I liked.  I couldn’t get it out of my mind though and on our last day we braved the atrocious weather to go back and get it.  Normally, the way my luck goes, it would have been sold, but this must have been destined for me, as we managed to catch the chap who made it just as he was packing up his stall.

It was made by a wonderfully talented guy called Stefano Velaska who incorporates pieces of debris from Hurricane Katrina into his work.  He even signed and dated the brooch and added my name on the back.   If you’re ever lucky enough to be in New Orleans you should definitely visit his stall in the French Market (please also smuggle me there in your suitcase).

I can’t actually say enough good things about New Orleans – it’s definitely one place I’d go back to in a flash.  Hopefully I’ll get a chance to go there again in the next few years, as there were so many things we didn’t get a chance to do – I seriously could have stayed for 2 or 3 months.oo

On other matters, the cuff I’m working on hasn’t progressed much – I didn’t have much time last night or tonight and didn’t like the effect I got when I used the silver beads to put the 2 halves together, so took them off and did it with brown ones.  Unfortunately I wasn’t paying attention and lined it up incorrectly, so had to separate the sides yet again.  Managed to get about  1/8th of one side done though and should have some more time to spend on it tomorrow.

Check back soon for an updated and the next part of my favourite jewellery section.

Lisa xoxo

3 thoughts on “Brooch(y) Beauty

  1. I have a friend, more of an acquaintance who lives in NO and she’s been jacked about four times mugged twice and had her place ransacked a couple of timesin this past two years or so, so it’s quite something to read something that sounds a positive experience there. 😀

    • I loved it, but we were staying in the centre of town a couple of minutes away from the French Quarter. I’m sure it’s like every other city though – got to live there to see the not so nice bits.

Leave a Reply

