Dwelling on a Dilemma

Over the Christmas holidays I managed to nab these gorgeous lampwork orphans from Emma at EJR Beads.

I love lampwork beads, but to be honest don’t have any experience working with them would like to make some pieces to show them off.  If you haven’t already guessed it, this is where you come in!!  Would love to hear some suggestions to showcase them.

I’m also going to have a go at chainmaille.   I did a bracelet at a class a couple of years ago and really liked doing it and have seen some lovely work lately.  I’ve treated myself to this book by Rebeca Mojica:

After the class I also bought Beaded Chain Mail Jewelry by Dylon Whyte, but I haven’t made anything from it yet, so maybe 2011 will be the year for me to discover maille.

Owing to unforeseen circumstances last night, I ended up being home alone most of the night, so managed to get cracked on a bit more with my cuff.  I also decided to ditch the teal, as it didn’t quite work with the other colours I picked (one of the few downfalls from bead shopping online).

I think this project may take some time.  You might notice I’ve started to fill in some of the holes on the brown one – this needs to be done for both sides of the bracelet.  So far I’ve done 15 of them, so only another 147 to go (and that isn’t the end of the cuff)!!.

Remember to let me know your ideas for the lampies.

Lisa xoxo

5 thoughts on “Dwelling on a Dilemma

  1. If the lampies are big enough how about using them as focal beads with smaller beads in colours to compliment the focal??

    Vxx

  2. Hi Lisa, this will look great when it’s done, love the colours too. Haven’t done any seed bead work for ages, must get the loom put again.

  3. you are the master of patience, with that netting pattern to continue on with, and with chainmaille! seriously if you ever get any beady-patience that you don;t need anymore, then send some to me!! 🙂

    Loving the lampies as well … throw them all in the mix and make a funky-chunky necklace! mix it up wioth beaded beads, chunky metals, fabrics and semi-precious stones as spacers. Mixed media chunky and funky necklace would look fab!

    x

  4. I think a couple of those lampies would work really well with some chain maille 🙂 Though I have to say that I use lampies for stroking more than anything… 😀

Leave a Reply

