Beading Beaded Beads

I made this bangle, called Eden for a friend’s birthday.   It’s based on a photo in the gallery section of Marcia DeCoster’s Beaded Opulence book.  The original piece was made by Stacy Creamer and is a necklace in a variety of primary colours.

I used size 11 and size 15 seed beeds in a variety of colours to bead around wooden beads.  For the large and medium cubes, I made base beads from polymer clay then beaded around them.  The stitch used is right angle weave and the “bubble” effect on one of the beads is done by stitching Miyuki drop beads over the beaded bead.

I really enjoyed making this piece and was very pleased with the end result.  Would definitely like to do something like this for myself at some stage.

Also on the topic of beads, I was lucky enough to be quick off the mark yesterday and claim a set of orphan beads from the wonderfully talented Emma Ralph at EJR Beads for a fantastic price.  Can’t wait for them to arrive so I can drool all over them.  Sorry I don’t have a pic,  but will post one when they arrive.

I can’t believe how much I’m looking forward to 2011, I’ve even been finding it difficult to sleep because my head is swimming with so many things I want to make.  I’m lucky enough to have an extra day off tomorrow, and looking forward to sitting down with some books sprawled around me, whilst I decide on my next project.

Talking of books, I’m currently reading The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, who just happened to write The Shadow of the Wind, one of my favourite books of all time.  I’m always open to book recommendations, crafty and non-crafty, so feel free to leave your recommendations in a comment.

Talk soon.

Lisa xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

