New year, new ambitions

I have so many things I’d like to achieve in 2011.

Firstly, and this is a major project which will probably take most of the year, I want to write a cookbook.  I’m hopefully going to work with one of my friends who is a photographer and come up with something really professional looking.  I’ll probably post snippets of the work in progress, as I’m really quite excited to do it, even though I will just be self-publishing it (thanks to the wonders of the internet).

I also want to structure my time so that I see a crafty project through from start to finish instead of having multiple things on the go at once.  I’d love to spend some more time developing my sewing ability and will definitely try to tie this in with my love of jewellery and accessories – much as I’d love to be able to design, cut and make a couture-quality dress, I do realise it’s probably a bit ambitious for me at this moment in time (but never say never!).

To have the time to do all these things, I will have to be more organised in the evenings, as I work full time.  One of the ways I’m considering doing this is making large batches of weekday meals and freezing them in portions, as I spend up to 2 hours in the kitchen every single night.  Hubby mentioned a few weeks ago that one of his New Year’s resolutions will be to cook more often.  Since he went to catering college when he was younger, this is one I’m not going to let him forget – he will be doing one night a week minimum 😀

I no doubt will still feed my addiction for craft books, but really going to try to purchase materials for projects as and when I need them, instead of buying enough for 4 things and then deciding after I do one project that I’ve changed my mind with regard to what I want to make next and then have to go and buy a whole new load of stuff.

Speaking of my craft book addiction, here are the books I bought towards the end of 2010 and didn’t get around to blogging about – especially for Nic:

Making Vintage Accessories by Emma Brennan – fabulous book, with bags and accessories, including hats and gloves.

The Beader’s Guide to Color by Margie DeebGreat book, more so for the colour theory than the projects, which aren’t really to my taste.  Some of the colour combinations are definitely ones I wouldn’t have thought of and will be trying out in future.

Beading with Cabochons by Jamie Cloud EakinA really useful book to have in your library.   Some really interesting techniques.

Laura McCabe’s Embellished BeadweavingThe latest in the Beadweaving Master Class series by Lark Books.  I love the series and love Laura McCabe’s work, so this one was definitely a winner with me.

Beaded Allure by Kirsty WieseSome nice projects in this one, some not really my cup of tea.  Don’t love it as much as some of my other books, but don’t hate it either.

Will be back soon with some new jewellery.

Lisa xoxo

2 thoughts on “New year, new ambitions

  1. I’ve so enjoyed reading your ambitions for the year. I love the idea of the cookbook and wish you all the best with it – and also for your other aims. Hubby cooking at least one evening a week sounds good, but would be even better more than once a week, which would definitely free up a bit more time for you. x

  2. wow you are going to be busy

    Love the cook book idea – beats all those post its and bits of paper tucked everywhere!!!

    Have a FABULOUS 2011

Leave a Reply

