Bags of Style

After dipping my toe in the sewing water with the Kath Kidston bag a couple of weeks ago, I have now completed my first “proper” bag (proper being lined and cut from a pattern).

I am insanely proud of this…

I used a pattern from my Making Vintage Bags book by Emma Brennan. The velvet and lining came from a jacket I rescued from my sister’s charity bag and I got the ribbon from my local wool/haberdashery shop (don’t you just love the word “haberdashery”?).

Look how straight my stitches are on the decoration detail, but that flippin rose took me ages to get right!!

Thanks for looking.  Off to rip more clothes apart and see if anyone has any old wool/tweed stuff.

5 thoughts on “Bags of Style

  1. You have every right to be pleased with your bag. It is gorgeous. How clever to produce something so elegant.
    Kath

Leave a Reply

