A Bookworm’s Bonanza

I love books of all types, including e-books.  I’ve recently switched to an e-reader for my main reading books, and I love it so much.  Slots into my handbag easily, so I can read at lunchtimes and my case was so much lighter this year when I went on holiday (with the added bonus that I didn’t have to re-read anything).

I still love instruction books in hard copy format though, often because the photos in them are so pretty (and I like to see the colours).  I hardly ever buy magazines as the constant pages of adverts really bug me, but I am pretty much addicted to craft books (and always eager to learn something new).

So, since I still had a little bit of birthday money left (and Amazon had a cracking sale on) I treated myself to these books:

100 Flowers to Knit & Crochet by Lesley Stanfield

I think these little flowers look absolutely beautiful and will be great for customising clothes & bags and using to making jewellery and brooches (plus the added bonus that they look like they won’t take too long to make).

Sew! – Cath Kidston

This book apparently comes with all the things to make the cute bag on the front, so we’ll see how I get on with it.

Material Obsession – Kathy Doughty & Sarah Fielke

Kaffe Fassett’s Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts

Since a few of my friends/family members have either recently had babies or are having babies, I thought it would be lovely to try and make some quilts for them, so got these books.  I really seem to have caught the sewing bug recently, even though I have only sewn one thing so far.

Sew Pretty Christmas Homestyle

Finally, it may be a bit early for this one, but I faff around so much, it will still probably be Christmas 2011 before I get anything made from it!

Happy page turning, everyone (and please, please hurry, Mr Postie).

p.s. I have been making things – knitting for my best friend’s baby, but can’t show any pictures until baby arrives.

One thought on “A Bookworm’s Bonanza

  1. they look really yummy books – I’ve just ordered 2 more polymer clay books! I have lots of jewellery making books too. They are great for inspiration
    pam

Leave a Reply

